Random Fridays: Books that Disappointed

So, this is a day late, but there we go. Random Fridays is hosted by Awkwordly Emma, if you would like to join in you can find info on how to take part by clicking on the image above. This week’s topic is about books I found disappointing. So here we go, in no particular order:

1. The Children of Hurin by J R R Tolkien. This is kind of a bittersweet book for me. I actually adored reading this book. The language flows beautifully and I was interested the whole way through. The reason I list it as being disappointing is… well, it’s very depressing. Without spoiling, a lot of things go wrong. Very wrong. So yeah. But I’d still recommend it to Tolkien fans.

2. The Fairytale Detectives by Michael Buckley. First I should explain that I’m a massive fairy tale fan. I’m also obsessed with details. When I found out about this book I went ‘woohoo fairy tales! Infinite awesome!’ But… I’m probably overly detail obsessed, but so many of the fairytale ‘facts’ were incorrect. Apparently the later books are better in that respect, but they don’t have them at the library so I don’t know if I can be bothered really. The writing itself was pretty good, so if you’re not as obsessed as I am over minor details I’d recommend it.

3. The Vanishing of Katharina Linden by Helen Grant. A friend of mine was raving about this book a while ago, so I read it. I have to say it was absolutely terrifying (for me anyway), which was good seeing as it was supposed to be. But it wasn’t anything I’m likely to re read. Also there was one scene with like twenty f-bombs which was rather unnecessary and not very pleasant. But it was okay as a book.

So… That’s it that I can think of. Only three books, which I guess is a good thing. Umm… I think that’s it. Be back on Tuesday. 🙂

Categories: random fridays | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

