Writing Music

Since I haven’t posted anything for a while, I thought I’d write a bit about the kind of music I like to listen to while I’m writing. I don’t know about you, but I find listening to music usually makes it so much easier to write. Mostly I use movie soundtracks from animated films, but I also listen to other things. Anyway, here are some of my favorite things to listen to when I’m writing:

How To Train Your Dragon 1 & 2

Like I said in my last post, the soundtracks for these are absolutely amazing. I have both of these on CD and they get listened to over and over again. I find them especially helpful for when I want to get a lot of writing done, since they somehow make me write faster (usually). Once I listened to the soundtrack for the first one about three times in a row (I wasn’t writing the whole time. I do have other things to do with my time) without getting bored of it. Now I should move on or I’ll just fill the whole post rambling about how good these are.

Kung Fu Panda 2

This was the first soundtrack I bought for use when writing. I don’t listen to it as much as I used to, but I still find it helpful now and then for action scenes.

BrunuhVille

I discovered this guys music via some writerly internet friends of mine who like his music, and I must say I agree with them. He has loads of fantasy music which is great for writing, well, fantasy.

Lindsey Stirling

Lindsey’s music is fantastic. Her music videos are amazing as well, which can be a bit of a problem when I’m trying to write 😛 But if I can keep my eyes away for long enough her music does wonders for my writing speed. (sometime I’ll have to buy some of her CDs so I don’t get distracted XD) I particularly like her various video game covers, especially Halo. Which leads us to:

Halo 4

I was watching one of my brothers playing Halo 4 a while ago and all of a sudden ideas for my latest book idea (a super-hero-ish fantasy thing) came flying into my head. A quick search later and the soundtrack became what I generally listen to when working on that book. Not exactly the best for Dark of War though.

Frozen

This is the first movie soundtrack I bought, back before I got seriously into writing. I don’t use it very often for writing, but I’ll listen to it sometimes when I want something lighthearted or emotional. Not the songs though – then I just end up singing along and it all gets rather pointless.

So that’s the music I use. What music do you like to listen to when you’re writing? Anything you think I should try?

Categories: Music | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Writing Music

  1. Pingback: 1st Blogoversary Giveaway | The Dragon Writer

  2. Pingback: NaNoWriMo: End of Week One and Writing Music | The Dragon Writer

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

