Dragon Appreciation Day!

Bookwyrm by chromamancer at deviantart

So, yesterday was Dragon Appreciation Day, which is an annual celebration of dragons started in 2004 by Christian fantasy author, Donita K. Paul. This post was supposed to be written yesterday, but I was ill so I’m posting it today instead. To celebrate Dragon Appreciation day, I thought I’d share some of my favorite dragons.

Smaug and Bilbo by yinyuming on Deviantart

Smaug from The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

It must be said, Smaug is pretty awesome. (and a great villain at that) I had been planning on reading The Hobbit yesterday, but I couldn’t find our copy so I ended up reading Donita K. Paul’s Dragonquest instead.

Toothless from the How To Train Your Dragon films

Toothless somehow manages to be severely cool and absolutely adorable at the same time. If you’ve been following my blog you already know how much I adore the HTTYD films (If you haven’t: It’s a LOT) and Toothless is probably one of the best parts. 😀 I’m also going to put in a word for book Toothless, who has a tendency to be irritating but can still be kinda sweet.

Dibl from The Dragon Keeper Chronicles by Donita K. Paul

I couldn’t get hold of any pictures of Dibl himself, so… Book cover! 😀 Couldn’t very well leave out the creator of Dragon Appreciation Day, now could I? I love pretty much every dragon in this series, but Dibl is probably my favorite. It’s a pretty close run thing though.

Feniul the Dragon by BlackWidowVenom at Deviantart

Feniul from the Dragon Slippers Trilogy by Jessica Day George

Again, I love almost all the dragons in this series, but I love Feniul especially. His adorable awkwardness, his funniness (wow, who knew that was actually a word?), the fact he collects dogs. The list goes on and on X3

Spike from My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic

The Brony in me would not allow this list to end without at least mentioning Spike. He’s just so cute and funny 🙂

Did you celebrate Dragon Appreciation Day? If so, how? Any dragon related books, films, etc. you think I should try?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

