Top Ten Tuesdays: Movie Adaptions

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This is a day late, but there we are. This week is a freebie, so I decided to do my ten favourite book (and a few fairytales)-to-movie adaptions. Rarely is a film as good as the book it was based on, but sometimes they can do very well. It was pretty hard to put these in order, but I did eventually:

1. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy (2001 – 2003)

This series is pretty flipping epic. 😀 I’m pretty sure most of us have seen this by now, so I won’t go into it much (also I can’t really sum them up XD) I’ll mention The Hobbit films (which I’ve left of the list for length reasons) here as well, although they weren’t quite as good.

2. Ever After (1998)

I’ve included a couple of fairytale adaptions since they were just too awesome to leave off. Ever After is a wonderful Cinderella adaption, telling the story in  a more ‘realistic’ manner. Oh, and it’s so delightfully swoony. :3 And funny. And the COSTUMES flails uselessly. Anyway…

3. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005)

I can’t believe it’s been almost a decade since I went to see this in the cinema! This film actually started a deep love of Narnia, and books in general, in me. 🙂 It may well be the film I’ve watched second most out of any film. (the one I’ve seen most being Help I’m a Fish, which we watched every day for about a month for some absurd reason) The other two films so far were good as well, but the first is still my favourite. 🙂

4. Mirror Mirror (2012)

I’m sure you can guess which fairytale this is an adaption of. The visuals for this film are absolutely sumptuous, and the film itself is fantastic as well.

5. How To Train Your Dragon (2010)

They changed the story a lot from the books (which I didn’t read till after the film), but I personally like the film better. The books are good, but the film is amazing.

6. Little Women (1994)

This film is every bit as sweet as the book itself (which is another of my favourites). I also think the casting was excellent. 🙂

7. Pride and Prejudice (2005)

I’ve seen two different adaptions of P&P (the other being the 1995 BBC version), and I think I like this one better. For one thing it isn’t as long, XD. Also I just like the feel of it more. My sister and I can watch this over and over. She says Mr. Darcy is adorable in this version (probably not the word I would have used, but there we are)

8. Anne of Green Gables (1985)

I’ve loved and obsessed over the Anne books, and this adaption is great. The sequel is good too, although the third one was far too little like the books for my liking.

9. The Hunger Games (2012)

Umm yeah. It’s pretty much exactly like the book, so that’s always fun.

10. A Series of Unfortunate Events (2004)

Another one I watched before reading the books, and I’m glad I did. I abandoned the book series about eight books in. It’s just too depressing for me. I think this fitted the slightly dark quirkiness of the books, but it keeps a sense of optimism throughout.

So, those are my favourite book-movie adaptions. Which adaptions did you enjoy?

Categories: Top Ten Tuesdays | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

