Random Fridays: Let’s Talk About Writing

Hosted by Awkwordly Emma

Hosted by Awkwordly Emma

This week we’re talking about writing! Yay! So I’m going to talk about my current WIP, Wolf Cry. This is the cover I created for it with my okayish photoshop skills (I don’t actually have photoshop. I use GIMP instead cause it’s free and I don’t really have money to spend on graphics programs):

photos found on assorted stock photo sites.

photos found on various stock photo sites.

Wolf Cry is the first book in a planned series of at least 3 books which I’m currently calling the Blueblood Chronicles. It’s set in a world that’s basically what happened when I took the world of fairy tales and turned it into high fantasy. (which was really fun to do, by the way) As a result there are multiple fairy tale retellings sharing a universe. It’s hard to explain without going off on a long ramble (I’m pretty bad at concisely explaining what goes on in my head), but hopefully you get what I mean. Apologies if this post is a bit of a mess.

Anyway, onto talking about the actual book. Wolf Cry is primarily based around the fairytale Snow White, but with a few elements from Red Riding Hood and some others thrown in. The basic jist of the story is that Gwendolyn (Snow White) and some other people go on a quest to find a giant talking wolf that may or may not exist for a variety of reasons. They’re also trying to prevent fairies from being wiped out, and a load of other things are going on as well.

The Characters

Her hair should really be black, but otherwise it’s almost perfect.

First of all we have my lovely protagonist, Gwen. She’s the Snow White figure of the book. (There is a separate character who’s literally called Snow White, but she’s actually from a different fairy tale altogether.) She was actually quite bland before I started writing, but as soon as I actually got going, she turned out to be a very interesting person.

I don’t really have a picture for Caelan, so here’s his raven instead.

Then there’s Caelan, who’s kind of my replacement for the huntsman, although he has a considerably larger part in the series. He’s messed up his life pretty bad (which wasn’t entirely his fault), but he is trying to be helpful. He’s also proving a bit more difficult to write than I expected.

Next there’s the third party member, a beast hunter called Red, who joined for the money and stayed for the cause. I already talked a bit about Red in this post earlier this month. She also serves as someone to slap some sense into the others when things get too emotional. I’m really looking forwards to writing her.

Lastly we have the main antagonist of the series (I have plans for at least two others, but Calanthe is the most obvious and the most important one). She’s the evil Queen of the story, and one of the people who wants to kill fairies. For some reason I really enjoy writing from her point of view, even if she’ll probably only get a few paragraphs to herself. She’s just so deliciously villainous.

Now the actual writing part

I have 3,775 words down so far, and it’s been really fun writing. Most interesting thing so far was when I was about 8 pages in, and Gwen mentioned something I hadn’t planned, and all of a sudden I had an allegory on my hands, an origin story for my story world, and a logical role for the Great Wolf (the giant talking wolf I mentioned). So that changed a fair bit, and also loads of things I’d been planning on made sense. I’ve never really had something happen spontaneously like that in my previous writing, so that was cool.

The part I enjoyed writing most so far was a tiny bit less than ten lines long when I got to write from Calanthe’s point of view. Is it weird that I love writing my antagonist this much?

So that’s it for now. There’ll be more about Wolf Cry and it’s sequels later on. In the mean time, I have a pinterest board dedicated to it, if you feel like checking that out. If you want to participate in Random Fridays, just click on the picture right at the top of this post and it should take you to where all the info can be found.

Categories: random fridays, Wolf Cry, Writing | Tags: , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Random Fridays: Let’s Talk About Writing

  1. So cool! This sounds awesome! I can’t wait to hear more about this. 😀

    Like

  2. Your story sounds really cool! And isn’t it interesting (and fun) when you’re writing and then the characters reveal something that you hadn’t planned for?

    Like

  3. This sounds really awesome! That picture of Gwen took me a bit by surprise. She looks almost exactly like me. o_O

    Like

  4. Pingback: Beautiful People: July Edition | The Dragon Writer

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

