Beautiful People and Fiction Friday: Gwen

So today I’m linking up with both Beautiful People (which I did last month as well), and Fiction Friday, which I just discovered today. Both involve a character of mine answering questions, and the character I’ve chosen to use is Gwen, the protagonist of my current WIP, Wolf Cry. Here she is, in a new picture drawn by me:

This was just a quick thing for me to get used to drawing her hair. There’ll be a full body pic eventually.

First up we have the questions from Beautiful People, which is hosted by Cait @ PaperFury and Skye @ Further Up and Further In. This week’s questions really helped me to think more deeply about who Gwen is (turns out she’s a very different person from who I thought she was when I started writing :P) Anyway, on to the questions! I was going to answer these myself, but being the unruly protagonist she is, Gwen insisted on answering them herself. So she might raise more questions than she answers. (why do you always have to be so vague Gwen?)

1. Do they get nightmares? If so, why or what of?

Hmm, I don’t really get nightmares. At least, none that I remember. Fear is for the daytime.
2. What is their biggest guilty pleasure/secret shame?

Well, I suppose I’m ashamed that no one’s really seen me as who I really am. Except Bran, of course. I mean, I know I have good reasons and everything, but sometimes I wish I could just be myself for once.
3. Are they easily persuaded or do they need more proof?

Oh, I usually need proof. After all, when everyone’s just looking out for themselves, it’s hard to tell when someone’s being genuine and when they’re just manipulating you. Of course, being able to see people’s thoughts makes it rather easier to get proof.
4. Do they suffer from any phobias? Does it affect their life in a big way?

I do have a rather irrational fear of birds. I think I have it mostly under control, but I still get nervous around anything with feathers. Which makes for more than a few awkward situations…

I still find it mildly amusing that Gwen is so scared of birds, since they’re such an integral part of her culture.

5. What do they consider their “Achilles heel”?

Oh, definitely my lack of experience. That is, in doing ‘normal’ things. People keep sighing over how much they wish they could live the ‘simple life’ but let me tell you it is exhausting. Having to ask how everything works makes it even harder.
6. How do they handle a crisis?

Depends on the crisis. I’m told I’m surprisingly calm and collected in awkward situations and such, but when it’s my fault I have an unfortunate tendency to break down in tears. I do generally pull myself together and fix it eventually though.
7. Do they have a temper?

Oh no. I can’t even fake a bad temper, and I can fake most personality traits.
8. What are their core values and/or religious beliefs?

Family is extremely important to me. Which I suppose is ironic since most of my living relatives live in another realm. I also try to honour tradition, but with Cardon and Felicia (my father’s and mother’s home countries, respectively) having such conflicting values, it’s sometimes hard to decide just which traditions to keep. *sighs*
9. What things do they value most in life?

Please refer to my previous answer. True friends are important as well. It’s a pity they’ve been hard to come by until recently.
10. What is one major event that helped shape who they are?

I suppose my parents dying was a rather major event, since if they were still alive I wouldn’t have to keep up this ridiculous multiple-personality charade. Oh! I didn’t mean to sound like their deaths didn’t matter to me. I just find… it’s easier to cope with things if I just talk about them that way.

Lastly we have the question from Fiction Friday, hosted by Ashana Lian – A Fantasy Writer’s Blog

Who does your main character respect or admire the most?

Sir Kieran, my fencing teacher. He’s just so supportive and isn’t condescending at all. He’s also seen me the closest to my true self, besides Bran.

So, that’s a bit about Gwen. Have you ever had a character who insists on taking the story into their own hands? Also, if you joined in on Beautiful People or Fiction Friday, I’d love to see your posts.

Categories: Beautiful People, Fiction Friday, Wolf Cry, Writing | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Beautiful People and Fiction Friday: Gwen

  1. Pingback: A Month In Review: May 2015 | The Dragon Writer

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

