A Month In Review: May 2015

A Month in Review May 2015

This is rather late because I needed to find the cable for my camera so I could upload photos. Sadly I still haven’t found it, but this is late as it is so I’ll have to go ahead without the photos. Anyway, this month I’m going to switch things around a bit and put the stuff I did first, followed by the lists, rather than the other way round. I’ll also have a little bit about interesting posts elsewhere on the internet. Let’s see how this goes.

First of all, I turned seventeen on the twelfth, which I posted about earlier. Then we ended up doing my birthday outing no less than three times since the first two went really badly. (taking a long walk on a rocky English beache on a cold, windy, wet day was a terrible idea) Eventually I ended up going and buying books, which was fun. Although it turns out Cumbria’s book store stock is as pitiful as it’s library’s. I did manage to get my hands on The Princess Bride and Heist Society, neither of which I had read.

Last week we had half term (a week long holiday in the middle of a school term, for those of you who don’t know), and it was mostly pretty boring. Wow, so far this post’s been pretty depressing. Let’s move on to the good parts.

My bedroom is pretty much completely done! I just need a desk and a little more decoration. My sister has decided to decorate her entire bedroom with Rapunzel-style art, which was one of the things I wanted to show you but can’t. I also can’t show you the shelves I now have in my room. *sigh* oh well.

I finally managed to stop procrastinating crocheting wise, and actually finished Rarity! I also managed to make dolls of Sokka and Katara. Again, no photos because I can’t upload them. Now I’m working on Rainbow Dash.

I can, however, show you the rest of this month’s artwork (well, most of this month’s artwork)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I haven’t written any further on Wolf Cry, since I realized I didn’t really like the plot I had and now I’m re-plotting pretty much the whole thing. Also a bunch of characters turned up and demanded to be worked into the series. Oh, and I got an idea for a sequel to the series involving Sleeping Beauty 😛 Depending on how quickly I write, I might end up writing that for NaNo rather than Raven Call (book 2)

Now onto the lists:

Things I Watched

  

We finally finished the first season of Once Upon a Time, and it was amazing. One of the best TV shows I’ve seen in my life. What was with that ending though? You can’t end a season like that! Well, maybe you can, but it’s still annoying. We’re still debating whether or not to watch season two though. Apparently it’s a fifteen, so my brother probably won’t be able to watch it whether we do or not.

I actually watched The Battle of the Five Armies in April, but I forgot to include it in my wrap up post. Sadly I found it pretty mediocre. I didn’t connect with any of the characters and some of the action was rather unrealistic. And that bit on the ice was so cliche! D:<

Lastly, I watched Star Trek Into Darkness with my dad just because we felt like it. It was pretty flipping awesome, though I’m still slightly confused about a couple of things. Maybe it’s just because I was tired.

Things I Read

MLP Comics

Books read in MayI actually managed to read a fair bit this month. Not quite as much as I would have liked, but it’s an improvement on the last three months.

I discovered the My Little Pony Comics early on in May, and they are awesome. Some have a fair amount of plot holes or are badly explained, but for the most part they’re pretty good. They’re also stuffed with references to just about everything, which is cool. A few I’ve noticed are references to Doctor Who, Marvel, The Lord of the Rings, Star Trek, and Disney. My favourite comic(s) so far has been the Nightmare Rarity arc.

Book wise, I managed to get The New Recruit for free on kindle, and it’s pretty good and quite cleverly done.

I got Fairest (Lunar Chronicles 0.5) for my birthday. It’s quite different from the other books in the series, since it’s entirely from Levanna’s point of view. As a result it gets rather dark at times, but not too much so. I would highly recommend reading it after Cress, as it explains a fair amount of things mentioned in the other books. The first few chapters from Winter, included in the back, were a nice way to keep myself alive till November.

I’m not quite sure how I feel about SplinteredIt was a good book, but it wasn’t really my sort of thing. I might not bother with the rest of the trilogy.

The Princess Bride is a book I’ve heard quoted and referenced so many times I thought I’d better read it, and it was a very fun read.

I bought Heist Society on a whim really. I’ve read a couple of Ally Carter’s books before, and this one sounded like fun. It was as good as I expected (if not better), and I have no regrets in buying it.

Blog Stuff

My Most Popular Posts in May

Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Fictional Siblings

Beautiful People and Fiction Friday: Gwen

My Favourite Posts On Other Blogs

Cait @ Paper Fury celebrated her 4th Blogversary

Annika @ Writer and Proud posted about the difference between villains and antagonists

Dreaming Hobbit gave 4 reasons to write fan fiction

Ashlee Willis revealed the cover for A Wish made of Glass

and Stori Tori talked about Writing Lessons from Avatar: The Last Airbender

Things to look Forwards to in June

The 100th episode of My Little Pony airs next Saturday, and it looks like it’s going to be awesome.

Go Teen Writers is planning a Summer Challenge that starts on the 8th

I can’t really think of anything else happening in June.

What did you do in May? Do you have anything fun planned for June?

Categories: Month in Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “A Month In Review: May 2015

  1. Cait

    Aww, thanks for the link to my post!! And happy (belated) birthday to you!! *showers you with cake and confetti* I ABSOLUTELY LOVED HEIST SOCIETY. Do you watch heist-like movies?! Because it’s just the YA bookish version of those movies and I so adore that. I’m a sucker for stealing things, heheh (although I swear I’m a good person in real life *nods convincingly*) I quite adore Splintered, but I can imagine it’s not a book for everyone. xD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Why thank you! 😀 Heist society was awesome. I don’t think I’ve seen any heist-type movies as yet (although maybe I have and forgotten XD)

      Like

  2. Ooh, happy belated birthday, then! ^_^ The Princess Bride is super fun! Also I loooved Heist Society — wasn’t it awesome?? ❤

    Pretty drawings!! ^_^ You're really good, I love that style. 🙂 And you can do a follow-up post sometime if you get your camera thing figured out–hope that will work itself out for you! *hugs*

    I've heard so much about Once Upon a Time and might have to try it someday… Hmm…
    Loved hearing about your May, and hope you have an awesome June! 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh. My. Goodness. I love the Princess Bride book. It’s a kind of funny because I just got my brother to read it over the past week, and he’s not much of a reader, but loves the movie. That, and I wanted to read it again. 😀 It’s nice getting a few more details in there. Like the firsthand account of the 6 fingered man’s dastardly deed, and Fezzik’s backstory.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

