Bookshelf Tag

Deborah @ Road of a Writer tagged EVERYONE for the bookshelf tag (which of course includes me) and it looked fun so here we are. I even bothered to photograph all the books (which I’ve never done before), which was fun. Anywho, onto the tag!

Describe your bookshelf (or wherever it is you keep your books-it doesn’t actually have to be a shelf!) and where you got it from: 

yep

I actually have a photo 😀 (see above). I think my shelves are from Ikea, and I’ve had the teddy bear book stops for years. I also have some books on top of a book case (also from Ikea, I think). No that is not my art hanging above it (though I do have a couple of canvases that need to be hung up).

Do you have any special or different way of organizing your books? My favourite books (the ones in the photo) are arranged in alphabetical order according to author, with series put in reading order. I used to organize them in height order, but that got tedious and made it harder to find things. The rest of my books aren’t in any particular order.

What’s the thickest (most amount of pages) book on your shelf? Cress by Marissa Meyer with 550 pages.

Cress

What’s the thinnest (least amount of pages) book on your shelf? Dragonology (author unclear), at 28 pages.

Is this book not gorgeous?

Because what self respecting fantasy nerd doesn’t need a reference book for dragons in their life?

Is there a book you received as a birthday gift? DragonSpell by Donita K. Paul

DragonSpell

What’s the smallest (height and width wise) book on your shelf? Fifth Year Friendships at Trebizon by Anne Digby

Trebizon

What’s the biggest (height and width wise) book on your shelf? Dragonology (funnily enough it’s effectively both the largest and smallest book I own)

here's what it looks like on the inside

here’s what it looks like on the inside

Is there a book from a friend on your shelf? A friend of mine gave me almost the entire Roman Mysteries series by Caroline Lawrence for the New Year before last.

the last two books are missing, but this is a pretty impressive gift

the last two books are missing, but this is a pretty impressive gift

Most expensive book? Anne of Green Gables by L M Montgomery

Anne Anne 2

The last book you read on your shelf? Heist Society by Ally Carter

Heist Society

Of all the books on your shelf, which was the first you read? The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C S Lewis, which I first read when I was about seven.

tLtWatW

Do you have more than one copy of a book? Alice in Wonderland is actually the only book I have multiple copies of, one physical and one on my kindle.

Alice

Do you have the complete series of any book series? I actually have annoyingly few complete series, but I do have the complete Bush Boys series by James Tierney courtesy of my Australian second cousins.

Bush Boys

The first two books have gone walkabouts, but I know they’re somewhere.

What’s the newest addition to your shelf? The Princess Bride by William Goldman

Princess Bride

What book has been on your shelf FOREVER? Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll (the physical copy)

Alice physical

What’s the most recently published book on your shelf? Fairest by Marissa Meyer (published January 27th 2015)

Fairest

The oldest book on your shelf (as in, the actual copy is old)? The Borrowers Omnibus by Mary Norton (my copy is from 1966)

Borrowers

A book you won? The only book I’ve ever won was The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan, which I got for completing the Summer Reading Challenge. (and I am eternally grateful to said Challenge since it introduced me to Ranger’s Apprentice)

Ruins of Gorlan

A book you’d hate to let out of your sight (aka a book you never let someone borrow)? Anne of Green Gables, since not only is it basically irreplaceable (I don’t think you can get this copy any more), but it has a lot of sentimental value, since I got it for my birthday in France and it’s pretty much my favourite book ever.

Anne 3

Most beat up book? The Lost Stories by John Flangan. Our copy is a wreck:

lost stories

lost stories inside

we actually had to tape pages back in

Most pristine book? Considering it’s second hand, Urchin and the Heartstone by M I McAllister, which is still in perfect condition.

101_5166

A book from your childhood? The Chronicles of Narnia by C S Lewis. It’s these books that got me into reading in the first place.

Narnia

A book that’s not actually your book? I’m pretty sure my Father Brown Collection technically belongs to my dad, although he doesn’t seem to remember owning it. It has his name written in it anyway.

father brown

A book with a special/different cover (e.g. leather bound, soft fuzzy cover etc.)? Monsterology (by the same person as Dragonology) has an awesome cover:

monsterology

A book that is your favorite color? The Charioteer of Delphi by Caroline Lawrence is a lovely shade of purple

Charioteer of Delphi

Book that’s been on your shelf the longest that you STILL haven’t read? The Prose Edda by Snorri Sturluson. Man, and I thought The Lord of the Rings was hard to read. I’ve read bits and pieces but still not the whole thing. Amusingly, this book makes it very, very clear where Tolkien got the names for his dwarves from (there’s even a dwarf called Gandalfi!)

prose edda

Any signed books? I have a couple signed by people I know, but none signed by authors.


Phew! That post took most of the afternoon to create. Anyway, I hope you enjoyed seeing all my books. I hereby tag Picklesthehamsterproverbs31teen (if either of you have already done this/don’t do tags, feel free to ignore this), and anyone else who feels like doing it.

Categories: lists, tags | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Bookshelf Tag

  1. Yay! I’d love to do this tag. Thank you for tagging me! 😀

    Like

  2. Eeep, you did the tag! I loved reading this! 🙂 Also your pictures and books are gorgeous! ❤
    Book of Dragons looks so cool!
    Heist Society! I just read the third and it was awesome too. ^_^
    I so need to read Ranger's Apprentice…
    Aahh, that's amazing about Anne of Green Gables for a birthday in France and being such a special copy!
    That must be a UK version of Urchin and the Heartstone, because my sister's is entirely different and I've never seen one like that! o.o
    And I love the Narnia collection.
    Father Brown!! 😀
    Wow, you have such great books! 🙂 Awesome post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! 😀
      Yeah it’s a UK edition of Urchin and the Heartstone. Although I awkwardly have the US editions of the last two books and don’t have books one and three at all 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: A Month in Review: June 2015 | The Dragon Writer

  4. Pingback: Double Liebster Award | The Dragon Writer

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I’ve Read the Most Books From | The Dragon Writer

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

