A Month in Review: June 2015

A Month in Review - June 2015

Wow, it’s July already? I only posted twice! And I had so many plans… Well, let’s see what did happen in June.

Blogging aside, I actually got a lot done this month. I got a bunch of commissions done, and crocheted another two ponies, though they both lack eyes and cutiemarks. I finally have photos of Rarity, but the photos of Sokka and Katara came out really badly so I’ll have to re take them. Here’s the best of my art this month:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I… Still haven’t written much on Wolf Cry. I haven’t completely ignored it though, I did spend a fair bit of time developing back story and whatever. Also I had a bunch of new characters I had to work out. Which is probably procrastination, but at least it’s productive procrastination, right? Right?

We didn’t really do all that much in June that I can remember. (maybe I should start writing things down so I can remember more) So, onto the lists.

Things I watched:

First I watched Over the Garden Wall, a quirky, slightly creepy mini series reminiscent of Gravity Falls and Alice in Wonderland. Definitely worth a watch.

Several people I know were fan-girling over Steven Universe, so I decided to give it a try. It takes forever to get to the plot, but it’s still a very interesting, generally lighthearted TV show, though it can get a little dark (by children’s TV standards) from time to time.

Then I discovered Studio Ghibli’s films, and they were lovely. The first one I watched was Arrietty, which was a very sweet adaption of The Borrowers, and probably my favourite adaption of it I’ve seen so far (I’ve seen at least four altogether)

Shortly afterwards I saw Spirited Away, which was a little strange, yet beautiful at the same time.

Last I saw My Neighbor Totoro, which didn’t have much of a plot but made up for it with realistic characters and large doses of adorableness (wow… That’s actually a word?).

Things I read

books read in June

I’m finally back to about my usual amount of books read. There are too many for me to talk about all of them, so I’ll just mention some of the highlights.

It’s hard to choose a favourite book out of these since all but one got four stars. The Heroes of Olympus books were good. I don’t think I liked them quite as much as the first series, but they’re still a lot of fun.

Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight were awesome, although there was a little too much violence in the latter for my taste (still, they are about an assassin, so what can you expect?) I’ll definitely be reading the third book.

The Gates of Zion, which is about the fighting in Palestine just after World War 2 (I know there’s a name for it but I can’t remember), made me feel some righteous fury (though it didn’t cause me to shoot starbolts from my hands – and whoever gets that reference is automatically amazing). Religious War is one of the most awful things in the world in my eyes (seriously, killing people because they disagree with you? What is wrong with humanity?). I feel it did a fairly good job of showing that there were sickeningly good people and awful people on both sides (though since it’s from the Jew’s point of view we don’t get to see all that many ordinary Muslims)

She Is Not Invisible was a bit of a let down. It wasn’t really what I expected and the ending was rather annoying.

On the Blog

I did the Bookshelf Tag, where I basically posted a bunch of photos of my books. (that’s pretty much everything I did this month blog wise)

Elsewhere on the Internet

WarpOut released a beautiful animation called Lullaby for a Princess, which they were apparently working on for over two and a half years (this was actually released at the absolute end of May, but whatever)

(I’d just like to clarify that this is a My Little Pony Fan Work, but it’s absolutely gorgeous and worth watching even if you’re not familiar with the show  – I’m also interested to see what non fans think of it)

Speaking of MLP, the 100th episode aired and it was full of awesome, including Doctor Who references and Derpy’s first speaking role since the Last Roundup fiasco.

Uhhh… I really want to put something non pony related here but I can’t think of anything 😛 Oh, Pixar’s Inside Out came out, but we won’t get it in the UK till the 24th of July. I think another Jurassic Park film came out, but I wasn’t really paying attention.

As for blogs:

Stori Tori talked about Lessons from Anime: My Neighbor Totoro

Deborah @ Road of a Writer did a whole bunch of tags

Aimee @ To The Barricade! listed 5 ‘Nice Guy’ Characters with Personality

and Annika @ Writer and Proud suggested 9 1/2 Ways to Get to Know Your Characters

Things to Look Forwards to In July

Camp NaNo starts today! I don’t think I’ll join in, but we’ll see.

Summer Holidays start on the 16th (I think)! Woo!

As I mentioned, Inside Out comes to the UK on the 24th.

Categories: Art Work, Month in Review, Wolf Cry | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A Month in Review: June 2015

  1. I love the Zion Chronicles! Reading the third one right now, actually. My mom’s had them forever. What were your favorite parts/characters?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

