A Month in Review: July 2015

A Month in Review July 2015

Hey look I actually managed to post more than twice this month! Quite a lot happened in July.

The Summer Holidays started about half way into the month. Two of my younger siblings have gone camping this week, and my oldest brother is backpacking across Europe up to Russia (I think it was Russia. No one actually bothered to explain to me, but I heard someone mention Russia).

In the world of art, I’ve been working on my MLP NextGen, and an AU idea I had. I learnt how to do clean lineart in GIMP. Yesterday I got Paint Tool SAI on my laptop, and it is wonderful. I’m still working out how to use it.

Kilala97 on DeviantArt started a thing called Next Gen High School, which is a sort of roleplay/art sharing group thing for My Little Pony Next Generation fan artists, and I met a whole bunch of artists through that.

The best of my art this month, in approximate order of creation:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You can find the rest of my art on my DeviantArt account.

Writing wise, I’ve decided to scrap the little bit of writing I have now and re work the plot and develop the world and characters a bit more.

Things I Watched

Well, I’ve done another of the things from my list of things I want to do before I’m 18, watch anime! I think we (my three oldest siblings and I) actually started Naruto last month, but we didn’t really get into it till this month. Man that anime is so long! There’s no less than 220 episodes, followed by a sequel series with 421 episodes and counting. Somehow I get the feeling we’re never going to catch up to this one.

Several friends of mine recommended Fairy Tail as a good starting place for fantasy anime, and I finally got round to watching it. It seemed kind of random at first, but it ended up giving me a lot of feelings. I’m about 103 episodes in (there’s a bit more than 300 episodes to this one, I think, which isn’t as long as Naruto but still pretty flipping long), so no spoilers please! 🙂 I’ve been watching this one in Japanese with subs because I can.

My sister found out about Ouran High School Host Club from a friend, and practically forced me to watch it with her. It sounded incredibly stupid the way she explained it, but it turned out to be pretty good. It’s also much shorter than the other two, at just 26 episodes altogether.

I found out about RWBY (pronounced ruby), an american made indie anime, from a blog post (which shall be linked to below), and it was awesome. I’m not quite sure if/when the third volume comes out (volume two made it seem like there was going to be a third volume, but I haven’t heard anything announced about a release date).

I’ve only seen about seven episodes of Star vs. the Forces of Evil, but what I have seen was delightfully ridiculous. There doesn’t really seem to be a coherent story line thus far, but seven episodes isn’t always long enough to tell.

Things I Read

books read in July

I read less books than I’d hoped this month, mostly because I kept forgetting to order books in from the library.

I ‘ve wanted to read The Revised Life of Ellie Sweet for a while, so when it was free for a few days I had to get it. Come to think of it, I’m pretty sure this is the first YA contemporary I’ve read. (Wait… She is Not Invisible was YA, wasn’t it? Although… the writing felt pretty Middle Grade, so maybe not?) Anyway. it was very sweet (pun not intended) and enjoyable. I especially loved the writing bits.

I bought Snow Like Ashes knowing practically nothing about it other than it was high fantasy and every one I know who read it thought it was amazing. And sure enough, it was amazing. Kind of hard to put my thoughts on it into a few sentences.

I’m moving into the end of both the Percy Jackson books/Heroes of Olympus and Gallagher Girls. I remember when I read I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have to Kill You for the first time and thought the books would be a series of light, fluffy, mostly unrelated stories. I was wrong. Also, the dedication in The House of Hades was hilarious.

I also started reading a web comic called Stand Still, Stay Silent, and it’s unique, Scandinavian (!), somewhat horrific, and over all amazing.

On the Blog

Look, I posted six times this month (the sixth being to announce the winner of the giveaway)! Much better than the usual two or three.

The weirdest search term used to find this blog was:

images of shelf in room to keep teddy and books

Elsewhere on the Internet

Fandom Stuff:

San Diego Comic Con happened, and it was a glorious week for fandoms everywhere. (No I did not go because a) it’s too expensive and b) flight tickets to San Diego from England are also too expensive) My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic got a new song reveal and a teaser for the season finale. Unfortunately it also went on a mid-season hiatus till September, when the next Equestria Girls movie comes out.

Steven Universe got an extended theme song thing. Later in the month we got Steven Bomb 3 (which is a week with a new episode every day) and it gave me so many feelings.

Gravity Falls started up again with an episode containing so much backstory the fandom probably exploded. (I don’t keep up with the Gravity Falls fandom so I don’t know for sure)

I’m sure the other fandoms did stuff that week too but I wasn’t paying attention so I don’t know what they did.

Ant Man came out, which I haven’t seen yet. Apparently it’s very funny. (this is from the one person I know who’s seen it)

Inside Out was also released in the UK, which I haven’t seen either. According to my one friend who saw it the other day, it’s amazing.

On Other Blogs:

Next Month

I’m going down to Surrey next week, and at the end of the month one of my friends from down South is coming up for a visit 😀

More Gravity Falls coming up on the 3rd, and more Steven Universe on the 6th.

I’m pretty sure my brother comes back from Europe next month.

Phew! That took a long time to write. What did you do in July? Have anything fun planned for August? Have you read/watched any of the things I did this month?

Categories: Art Work, Month in Review, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “A Month in Review: July 2015

  1. Inside Out was sooo cute! 🙂 I just finished reading The Revised Life of Ellie Sweet. That was sooo good.

    Like

  2. FAIRY TAIL. I LOVE FAIRY TAIL. It is an amazing story of friendship. 🙂 My sister and I are watching it and we are about to start the Edolas arc, which I’m super excited about! RWBY is on my to-watch list. It sounds really good. 🙂
    And Rick Riordan is a horrible person for tormenting us with the HoH dedication!!!
    Let’s not mention my overwhelming excitement about winning your giveaway. 🙂 I’m still trying to figure out how to upload the picture to my FanFiction profile. It’s being a little pain. 😛 But I really want to post it, since my username is the character, Empress of Everything. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fairy Tail is amazing. 😀 Ah, you’re just behind where I am then. The Edolas arc was awesome.
      He is indeed a horrible person. He did make me laugh though, so I forgive him XD

      Like

      • GILDARTS. HOLY SMOKES I CAN’T WAIT TO SEE MORE OF HIM. And Wendy! I adore her, she’s such a doll! And Jerza (Jellal/Erza)….my sweet babies!

        Like

  3. Ouran is awesome, one of my favorite amines.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

