A Month in Review: September 2015

A Month in Review - Sep. 2015

Blogging took a bit of a backseat this month, since the holidays are over and I wanted to focus on my art a bit as well, so I only posted twice this month.

It’s mostly been pretty quiet this month. Art wise, I’m getting better with Paint Tool SAI, and I’ve actually shaded a couple of pictures, which I almost never do. The best of my art this month:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Writing wise, I’m finally getting a more coherent plot, and now I’m trying to get as much done as possible in preparation for NaNoWriMo.

Things I Watched

We watched a bunch of stuff this month. I watched another anime, Fruits Basket, which was cute, funny and surprisingly emotional and sometimes somewhat dark. We also caught up to Fairy Tail, which unfortunately also means we have to wait a week for each new episode. I’ve started re watching the first few story arcs with my siblings since they missed some of them.

My sister got Cinderella for her birthday, so we watched that. It was very sweet and visually gorgeous.

We liked the first Sherlock Holmes film so much we decided to watch Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows as well. It’s quite different from and feels much bigger than the first one, in a good way, which is what sequels should be.

I watched X-Men First Class with my brother. This was my first time going into a Marvel movie actually being familiar with the characters and so forth beforehand, and it’s actually even more fun than going in ‘blind’. (if you’re wondering why I’m familiar with the X-Men in the first place, my knowledge comes from oldish cartoons and spending too much time on the Marvel wiki.) It’s a little darker than the average Marvel movie, but still very enjoyable.

Continuing the Marvel spree (which started December last year), we finally watched Guardians of the Galaxy, which doesn’t take itself too seriously and is hilarious as a result.

Lastly, I watched Howl’s Moving Castle and liked it so much I bought it literally a couple of days after seeing it, along with My Neighbor Totoro (the collection begins…) It’s a really gorgeous film, like the other Miyazaki films. Apparently the book is even better, but annoyingly the library doesn’t have it. (wow. Big surprise there. Darn you Cumbria libraries.)

We’ve also been watching more of the other series we’re following, and my brother and I have been re-watching Beyblade (an oldish, badly dubbed anime we were obsessed with when we were younger – come to think of it it was technically the first anime I ever watched) for nostalgic reasons.

Things I Read

books read Sep. 2015

I didn’t read very much this month, partly because I’ve been doing other things and partly because I’m running out of books to read that the library actually has.

I’ve been reading a fair bit of Sherlock Holmes, partly inspired by watching the movies and remembering I’ve only read one before. (this happens a lot with me)

I finally finished the Gallagher Girls books with United We Spy. I’ve heard Ally Carter has another series besides this one and Heist Society, so I might check that out.

I also read Prodigy, which I loved. I awkwardly thought it was the last book in the series when I first read it. It’s not. So that’s awkward. I love how it decided to do something differently from the other dystopians I’ve read. (I won’t mention what it did because of spoilers)

On the Blog

Like I said, I only posted twice this month. (excluding the Month in Review post for August)

I was nominated for the Infinity Dreams award, and did the Curious Wren Bookish Tag, and I did my Favourite Female Characters for Top Ten Tuesday.

Elsewhere on the Internet

Fandom Stuff:

My Little Pony returned with three Rarity episodes in a row, including several new characters and a reappearance from Coco Pommell. The third Equestria Girls film, The Friendship Games, came out last Saturday, and it’s much better scripted than the first two films. Still not fantastic, but getting closer to the level of the show. The Halloween Special, Scare Master, was accidentally released early, though it was taken back down quickly. I’ve decided not to watch it till it officially airs though.

Steven Universe also returned, and we got character development for several side and minor characters, as well as more information on the Homeworld and an episode that actually got me to make fangirling noises over Peridot, which has never happened to me before. (seriously, she was so adorable in Catch and Release)

There’s also been more Gravity Falls, which has had one plot development episode and one character development/random silliness episode. It’s also been hinted that the show will be coming to an end soon, so the fandom is freaking out big time.

Star vs. the Forces of Evil has started to become surprisingly mysterious and deep, so that fandom’s freaking out too.

Other Internet Stuff:

  • How It Should Have Ended celebrated it’s 10th anniversary with a silly, nerdy Taylor Swift parody:

Next Month

I’m starting College! It’ll only be a couple of days a week at first, because the college is so awesome it’s actually okay with letting me start slowly because of my social anxiety.

NaNoWriMo is on the way, so I’ll be running around trying to have Wolf Cry ready to be written by then.

There’s Halloween, of course, though I don’t think we’ll be doing anything in particular for it.

So that’s what I did this month. What did you do in September? Have anything planned for October? Which animes do you think would be good for me to try next? (nothing gory please) Any books you think I should try?

Categories: Month in Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “A Month in Review: September 2015

  1. Great pictures! Those look amazing! 😀

    Like

  2. Love this post! It’s always fun to see what you’re up to. 🙂 Oh my WORD you are SUCH a good artist!!! :O *flails around* Awesome!

    Cinderella! Game of Shadows! Howl’s Moving Castle! AAAHH SUCH GOOD MOVIES! 😀 (I hope you can read the book sometime! It’s TOTALLY different than the movie, but they’re both awesome, and the book’s like my favorite thing ever.) I really really want to see Guardians of the Galaxy…

    Good luck on college and NaNo prep! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

