NaNoWriMo: End of Week One and Writing Music

Well, the first week of NaNoWriMo is over! My current word count is 10,737 words, so I have 39,263 words left. It’s been going much better than last year, but I still have a long way to go! I’ve done my first ever word crawl this year. (a Legend Of Korra themed one, which you can find here) You can find my NaNoWriMo profile here if you’re interested. But the main thing I’m posting about today is Writing Music. You may remember I did a post about this back in January. I listen to almost any kind of music, preferably without lyrics since they distract me, while I’m writing, and here are some of my favourites (this is going to be relatively brief because I don’t have a ton of time):

Taylor Davis

Taylor Davis is a violinist, a little like Lindsey Stirling in my last post, though she does have a different style. Her music is epic, and I especially like her anime covers.

Marvel Soundtracks

Pretty much every Marvel movie I’ve seen has had a fantastic soundtrack, and they’re really great for writing. (so epic and inspirational) Some of my favourites are the soundtracks for The Winter Soldier, Thor The Dark World and X-Men First Class.

Anime Music

Anime often have seriously epic soundtracks, and the battle soundtracks are usually great for writing. Fairy Tail and Sword Art Online have some especially good soundtracks, and there’s one piece from Noragami I can’t get enough of for some reason. Probably because of the memories of epicness that come with it (see above – it’s the piece that plays during the final battle and that scene was amazing)

RWBY Score

I guess this kind of goes in the Anime section, but some people would argue it’s not technically an anime, and besides it’s so awesome I wanted to give it it’s own section. RWBY’s soundtrack is as good as it’s fight scenes (read: crazy awesome), and again it’s really great to write to. (just to warn you, there are some minor spoilers for volume two in the video above if you watch it. Just listening to it is fine though)

Honorable Mentions:

Avatar the Last Airbender and Legend of Korra; Pirates of the Caribbean; the Narnia soundtracks; and the Sherlock Holmes movie soundtracks.

I’ve taken the time to compile a playlist of all my favourite pieces from the above mentioned soundtracks and many more for NaNoWriMo, which you can find here. I also have a playlist of the full versions of many of my favourite soundtracks here.

If you’re doing NaNoWriMo this year, how has it been going for you? Is any of your favourite writing music here? Any music you think I should try?

Categories: Music, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: End of Week One and Writing Music

  1. I love Taylor Davis’s music. The songs are just beautiful. My favorite has to be the Fairy Tail theme cover. STUNNING. I like British period drama soundtracks for when I’m writing, as well as fiddle and folk music and anime openings and soundtracks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • yeah the Fairy Tail cover is lovely.
      I don’t really watch a lot of British period dramas so I haven’t really heard any soundtracks either. I usually listen to anime openings when I’m doing art. Not so much for writing though.

      Like

  2. Pingback: NaNoWriMo: End of Week Two and Beautiful Books | The Dragon Writer

  3. Pingback: A Month in Review: November 2015 | Purple Dragon Writing

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

